Board of Directors

UNC Health Johnston is governed by the Johnston Health Services Corp., a 15-member board made up of eight UNC Health Johnston Board of Commissioners and the seven new representatives appointed by UNC Health Care.

Dr. Eric Janis, Chairman, Board of Directors

Eric Janis, M.D.


Dr. Janis began his term in 2014. He is a former chief of medical staff and has been part of North Carolina Heart and Vascular for 15 years.

David Mills, Vice Chair, Board of Directors

David Mills

Vice Chair

David Mills joined the Johnston Health Services Corporation Board in 2018 and also serves as Vice Chair. A native of Eastern North Carolina, he practices law with Narron Wenzel, P.A. David earned his undergraduate and law degrees from Campbell University and has practiced in Smithfield since 1991. David is recognized by the North Carolina State Bar of Legal Specialization as a Specialist in Business Bankruptcy Law. David is also a Johnston Health Foundation board member and past Chairman. He lives in Smithfield with his wife and two children.

James Collins, III, MD, Board of Directors

James Collins, III, M.D.

Dr. James Collins, III is chief of the medical staff at UNC Health Johnston.

Ernie Bovio, Board of Directors

Ernie Bovio

Ernie Bovio is president of UNC REX Healthcare. He leads all aspects of the 665-bed health system's operations and its six campuses in Wake County including the North Carolina Heart & Vascular Hospital.

Ernie joined UNC REX Healthcare in September 2018 as the chief operating officer. He previously served for four years as president and chief executive officer at High Point Regional UNC Health Care.

Ernie has worked in healthcare for 25 years. He has served in various administrative capacities, including chief executive officer at Baylor Scott & White Health in Austin, chief executive officer at Trinity Medical Center in Carrollton, chief operating officer at Twelve Oaks Medical Center in Houston, and chief operating officer at The Medical Center of Mesquite.

Ann Collins, MD, Board of Directors

Ann Collins, M.D.

Ann S. Collins, MD is an Obstetrics and Gynecology physician with Centre OB/GYN in Raleigh. She received her undergraduate and medical degrees from Duke University. She began her career at Rex Hospital in August 1995 and has held numerous leadership positions with the Rex Hospital Medical Staff, including service on the Medical Staff’s Medical Executive Committee. She is currently the Chair of the Rex Hospital, Inc. Board of Directors.

Dr. Linda Butler, Board of Directors

Linda Butler, M.D.

Dr. Linda Butler is the vice president of medical affairs and the chief medical officer for UNC Rex Healthcare. Prior to becoming part of Rex’s executive team, she practiced pediatrics in Wake County for 14 years.

Patricia Chisholm-Jones, Board of Directors

Patricia Chisholm-Jones

Patricia Chisholm-Jones of Smithfield is a retired school administrator. She taught for 32 years before becoming an administrator in the Dayton, Ohio public schools for 17 years. She is a 2020 appointee.

Ted Godwin, Board of Directors

Ted Godwin

Ted Godwin is a Johnston County Commissioner, currently serving as vice chair. He is a retired senior vice president of KS Bank. He was elected to the county board in 2012. In county government, he’s involved in regional transportation planning, veterans services and services for the aged. He is a member of Central Johnston Rotary, and serves as a deacon at Micro First Baptist Church.

Dr. Dennis Koffer, Board of Directors

Dennis Koffer, M.D.

Dr. Koffer joined the board in 2014. Dr. Koffer is a former chief of the medical staff and has been a surgeon for 35 years. He currently serves as the medical director for UNC Health Johnston Home Care and Hospice. 

William Massengill, Board of Directors

William W. Massengill

William W. Massengill Jr. is CEO of Benson Area Medical Center. A life-long resident of Johnston County, he was born at what was then Johnston Memorial Hospital. He has held leadership positions in nonprofit health care for 27 years. He served as mayor of the Town of Benson for 10 years. He is a 2020 appointee.

Ana Milazzotto, Board of Directors

Ana Lucia Milazzotto

Since 2007, Ana Lucia Milazzotto of Clayton has been the director of one or more federal programs at Johnston County Public Schools. Earlier she was a curriculum specialist for the school system and a teacher at Four Oaks Elementary. She has master’s degrees from Michigan State in curriculum and instruction and from Campbell University in school administration. A native of Brazil, she has lived in Johnston County since 1999. She joined the Johnston Health Board in 2019.

Brad Oakes, Board of Directors

Brad Oakes

Brad Oakes joined the Johnston Health Services Corporation board in 2019. He graduated from Appalachian State University with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration in Accounting degree. Brad became a member (partner) of Dunn, Dunn, & Oakes CPAs PLLC in January 2015. Brad is a member of the Rotary Club of Central Johnston County and both the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the North Carolina Association of Certified Public Accountants. He lives in Clayton with his wife and two children. 

Dr. Marilyn Pearson, Board of Directors

Marilyn Pearson, M.D.

Dr. Marilyn Pearson has been director of the Johnston County Public Health Department since 2005, and supervisor of the agency’s physicians and mid-level providers since 1998. In the community, she serves on several committees and boards, including Project Access and the Johnston County Partnership for Children. In 2015, she was named NC Health Director of the Year. And in 2014, the Johnston County branch of the NAACP honored her with its Trumpet of Conscience Legacy Award.

Jeff Parlier, Board of Directors

Jeff Parlier

Jeff Parlier of Garner is the senior vice president of retail banking at First Citizens. He has worked with the bank for 25 years. He grew up in Hickory, and moved to the Cleveland School area in 2018. He is a 2020 appointee.

Andy Zukowski, Board of Directors

Andy Zukowski

Andy Zukowski is Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of UNC REX Healthcare. He is a servant leader with a calm, forward thinking and analytic approach to achieving results. He is known for his focus on relationships, development of others, and his engaging style of communication. He is a member of the WakeEd Partnership Board.

Sign Up for our Quarterly Report

Connect logo

Make sure you do not miss an issue of our FREE publication to connect you with what UNC Health Johnston is doing in our hospitals and out in the community.


Health Matters Blog

Get the latest tips and information for healthy living.

Explore Our Blogs